Wednesday 24 October 2018

EU 5GPPP- 5G IA elected its new Board for a term of two years until October 2020.

BRUSSELS – October 23, 2018 – At its recent General Assembly, 5G IA elected its new Board for a term of two years until October 2020.


5G IA is the voice of the European industry for the development and evolution of 5G. Its objectives are to:

  • Ensure a clear European voice on 5G
  • Support a Europe wide 5G ecosystem, embracing research, standardization and development, academia, telecoms industry and verticals
  • Represent the Private side of the 5G Public-Private Partnership (5G PPP)
  • Contribute to EU Digital Transformation programs and Horizon Europe strategic objectives leveraging 5G evolution


The eleven companies represented in the Board are: Orange, Telecom Italia Mobile, Telenor, SES, Nokia, Ericsson, Huawei, Thales, Nextworks, InterInnov and CTTC (Centre Tecnològic de Telecomunicacions de Catalunya). For more information please visit: They are key stakeholders from the ecosystem and membership of 5G IA –


At its first meeting following the General Assembly, the new Board confirmed:

  • Colin Willcock – Head of Radio Network Standardization at Nokia – as Chairman of the Board
  • Christine Leurquin – VP, Institutional Relations and Communications at SES – as the Vice-Chair of the Board
  • Magnus Madfors – VP, Head of Technical Regulations Group Function Technology at Ericsson – as Treasurer
  • Raffaele de Peppe – Senior Innovation Manager at Telecom Italia Mobile – as Chair of the "Verticals Engagement Task Force" (

5G IA's leadership includes also Jean-Pierre Bienaimé, Secretary General, in charge of the overall visibility and management of the 5G IA, and Alessandro Bedeschi, Head of Office, ensuring the operational well-functioning of the 5G IA.